001: The Clocks Were Striking Thirteen (Jon Averill)

Shock World Service 001:
The Clocks Were Striking Thirteen by Jon Averill
22/01/07 Dublin, Ireland

1. I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness - According To Plan
Strange that I chosen a goth rock/post-punk revival track for the very first track on the first ever podcast, but I have.

2. Robots In Disguise - DJs Got A Gun
Pretty awful track that hasn’t aged all that well to be honest but hey, it was 2007.

3. 23 Skidoo - Last Words
Perhaps the first bit of decent music on the Shock World Service. ‘Last Words’ is a jam off 23 Skidoo’s album ‘The Gospel Comes To New Guinea’ from 1981.

4. The Flying Lizards - Sex Machine
An experimental duo that surprisingly had some main stream chart success in the early 80s with their strange but brilliant cover versions.

5. The English Beat - Mirror In The Bathroom
Formerly 'The Beat', a 2 Tone ska revival band founded in Birmingham in the late 70s.
After the Beat split up Andy Cox & David Steele joined up with vocalist Roland Gift to form Fine Young Cannibals.
When Fine Young Cannibals split up Roland Gift appeared in some episodes of the Highlander TV show.
What a career.

6. The Psychonauts - Hips For Scotland
I’d always thought of The Psychonauts as part of the big beat scene of the late 90s, but they were actually a far more interesting act than that. Psychedelic folk of the quality of ‘Hips For Scotland’ requires no further exegesis.

7. Mr Hopkin's Crazy Computer - Crazy
Mr Hopkin’s computer is unlikely to be actually crazy but I enjoyed this cover of the Gnarls Barkley omnipresent radio hit.

8. Roxy Music - The Main Thing (Rub'n'Tug Mix)
At the time of recording this podcast i’d never listened to Roxy Music. 8 years later I have.

9. In Flagranti - What Are You Doing After The Orgy?
More a loop than a track from New York based Sasha Crnobrnja & Alex Gloor.

10. Common - New Wave (Playgroup Remix)
Trevor Jackson’s remix of Common drops his vocal over the Tom Tom Club’s ‘Wordy Rappinghood’. Simple & effective.

Full tracknotes: https://www.shockworldservice.com/#/001/